Content Type

This project was made possible by funding through the Canadian Culture Online Strategy and the Heritage Policy Branch of the Department of Canadian Heritage.

Canadian Heritage

David Restivo


DAVID RESTIVO (piano) is one of Canada's most respected and influential jazz artists, well-known for his work with Rob McConnell's The Boss Brass and Tentet, the Mike Murley Quintet, and legendary songwriter Marc Jordan.

He has also performed and recorded with Dave Holland, Kenny Wheeler, John Abercrombie, Jerry Bergonzi, Mel Torme, Pat LaBarbera, Ingrid Jensen, Carla Bley, Steve Swallow, George Garzone, Howard Johnson, Christine Jensen, Kevin Mahogany, Randy Bachman, David Clayton-Thomas, Molly Johnson, Moe Koffman, Joe LaBarbera, Mark Whitfield, Marcus Belgrave, Joey Baron, Curtis Fuller, Stacy Rowles, Jane Bunnett, Jeff Healey, Phil Dwyer, Tim Hagans, Steve Kirby, Jeff Hamilton, Alex Acuna, Gene Bertoncini, Phillip Harper, Don Thompson, Ed Bickert, Guido Basso, P.J. Perry, Trudy Desmond, Joe Lovano, Judi Silvano, Dave Pietro, Owen Howard, John Hollenbeck, Ratzo Harris, Sheila Jordan, Jay Clayton, Donny McCaslin, Metalwood, Charles McPherson, Dave Young, Norman Marshall Villeneuve, Memo Acevedo, Dave Valentin, Luis Conte, and many others.

In 2013, Restivo appeared on a duo recording by guitarist Reg Schwager entitled Arctic Passage. The album features a number of standards and Schwager originals, as well as a song by Stephen Foster.

David Restivo has served on the music faculty at the Banff Centre for the Arts and St. Francis Xavier University, and currently teaches at Humber College and the University of Toronto.


David Restivo is a 3-time winner of the National Jazz Awards' ‘Pianist of the Year’ Award, and is listed in the current edition of Canadian Who's Who.